Internet Safety Tips for Parents

The links and documents below are compiled to help parents learn more about the Internet, and how to help keep their children and teens safe while online.

Parent's Beware of Snapchat's New Snap Map Feature

The Canadian Centre for Child Protection, through its Cybertip.ca program, wants to make parents aware of a concerning new location-sharing feature on Snapchat, an app that lets users send photos, videos, and messages that disappear after a set time. Click here for more details.

Safety Precautions

The RCMP's Internet Safety Fact Sheet - RCMP Internet Factsheet 

Are you web aware? Take this quiz and find out: Web Aware Checklist

Learn how you can help prevent cyber attacks and protect your own personal information by taking the following precautions:
www.internet101.ca/en/techtips.php

It’s important to establish a balance between respectful communication and ensuring safety. Learn how to track Internet behaviour: Tracking Online Behaviour 

Internet Addiction

If your kids are spending too much time on the Internet, establish a healthy balance between Internet use and other activities. Learn more at:
http://www.bewebaware.ca/english/compulsive_use.html

Try creating an Internet. Two examples are from the RCMP:
www.internet101.ca/en/agreement.php

And wiredkids.org – The Safe-surfing Agreement 

Cyber Crimes

Learn about identity fraud, the theft and use of personal information for criminal purposes:
http://www.rcmp-grc.gc.ca/scams-fraudes/index-eng.htm

Privacy Invasions

Children's privacy can be compromised in certain online activities. Learn more at:
http://www.bewebaware.ca/english/privacy.html 

Online Predators

Become aware of the risks of online behaviour to help prevent your child’s interactions with online predators:
http://www.bewebaware.ca/english/sexual_risks_harm.html 

Misinformation

The Internet is a common source of information for homework. However, not all information is true or to be trusted. Learn more at:  http://www.bewebaware.ca/english/home_work.html

Want to stay up-to-date?

New apps (applications) are popping up online all the time.  Are you up to date with the latest apps your children or teens are using on their mobile devices or their computer at home?  Here’s a great resource list of organizations whose information you can use: 

Media Smarts: http://mediasmarts.ca/

NetSmartz: http://www.netsmartz.org/Parents

Cyber Safety: http://www.cyber-safety.com/index.html

OneChild: http://onechild.ca/

Kinsa: http://kinsa.net/

Safe Kids: http://www.safekids.com/

Safe Teens: http://www.safeteens.com/

Wired Safety: http://www.wiredsafety.com/

Get Net Wise: http://www.getnetwise.org/

Child Net International: http://www.childnet.com/

OPP – Cyberbullying: http://www.opp.ca/index.php?id=115&entryid=573ccc6f8f94ac7a3d66ddd2&lng=en

RCMP:  http://www.rcmp-grc.gc.ca/is-si/index-eng.htm

IPC: https://www.ipc.on.ca/?redirect=https://www.ipc.on.ca/